Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles

The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for vehicle registration, driver licensing, ID cards, safety inspections and titling for the state of Rhode Island. Here is an overview of key DMV services:


The Rhode Island DMV provides forms for license renewals, registration, title transfers, address changes and more. Common RIDMV forms include:

  • License or Permit Application (DS-21)
  • Vehicle Registration Application (TR-1)
  • Title Certificate Application (TR-5)
  • Change of Address Notification (DS-21A)

Download official RI DMV forms from their website to ensure proper completion.

Registration Renewal Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles

Rhode Island registrations must be renewed every 2 years. Reminder notices are mailed approximately 45 days prior to your expiration date.

You can renew your registration online, by mail, at AAA branches, or at the DMV. Have your registration card, insurance info and mileage available.

Appointment Scheduling

The RIDMV offers appointments for many transactions like knowledge tests, road tests, license upgrades, out-of-state transfers and more.

Book appointments online in advance to reduce wait times. Be sure to bring required documentation to your appointment.

Driver Exam Stations

The RIDMV has 6 locations that conduct knowledge and road exams across the state. Both tests are offered by appointment only.

Study the driver’s manual, bring proper ID and glasses if required. Road tests are conducted using the applicant’s vehicle.

2024 Rhode Island Driver’s Manual

The 2024 Rhode Island Driver’s Manual covers laws, safe driving practices, license application procedures and more.

Read the manual before taking your permit test. Review sections like warning signs, pavement markings, right-of-way rules before your road test.

License Renewal Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles

Rhode Island driver’s licenses expire every 5 years on your birthday. The RIDMV will mail a renewal notice to your address on file approximately 90 days prior.

Licenses can be renewed up to 6 months before expiration online, by mail or in person. You’ll need to provide updated ID.

License Plates

Rhode Island requires all vehicles to display a valid license plate on the rear of the vehicle only. Standard plates are blue and white.

To get RI plates, bring your title or registration and proof of insurance to the DMV or an authorized dealership. Specialty plates cost extra.

Contact DMV

Find contact information for your local RI DMV office on their website. You can also call the DMV Call Center at (401) 462-4368.

RI DMV offices are open Monday-Friday from 8:30am-3:30pm, except for the Cranston branch which has extended weekday hours until 6:30pm.

5 Key Rhode Island DMV Questions

1. How soon can you renew your license before it expires?

You can renew your RI driver’s license up to 6 months before the expiration date.

2. Do new Rhode Island residents need to take a road test?

Yes, new residents must pass a road test to transfer their out-of-state license to Rhode Island.

3. What is the late registration renewal penalty?

Registrations renewed up to 1 month late incur a $30 penalty. Longer than that results in the standard registration fee plus a $20 late fee.

4. Can you renew a suspended RI license online?

No, you must reinstate your license in person at the DMV before renewing online.

5. How much are replacement license plates?

It costs $8 to replace one lost RI license plate, $16 for two replacement plates.


Leave a Comment