Wisconsin DMV (Department of Transportation)

The Wisconsin DMV (Department of Transportation) is responsible for driver licensing, vehicle registration, and traffic safety in the state of Wisconsin. Here is an overview of key services:


The Wisconsin DMV provides forms for license and registration needs, including:

  • Driver License or ID Card Application (MV3001)
  • Vehicle Title/Registration Application (MV1)
  • Request for Duplicate License or ID (MV3004)
  • Notice of Change of Address (MV307)

Download official WI DMV forms from their website for accuracy.

Registration Renewal Wisconsin DMV (Department of Transportation)

Vehicle registrations in WI must be renewed every 1 or 2 years. Renewal notices are mailed out 2 months prior to expiration.

Registrations can be renewed online, by mail, at DMV Service Centers, or local authorized agents. Have your registration card, insurance info, and odometer reading ready.

Appointment Scheduling

The WI DMV offers appointments for select services like road tests, reinstatements, and administrative hearings.

Book appointments online in advance to save time. Be sure to verify what documents to bring to your appointment.

Driver Exam Stations

There are nearly 200 DMV Service Centers in WI that conduct knowledge tests and road tests. Study the driver’s manual and bring proper ID.

Both exams are offered on a walk-in basis during testing hours. Allow extra time at urban offices which tend to be busier.

2024 Wisconsin Driver’s Manual

The 2024 Wisconsin Driver’s Manual covers laws, safety, license application procedures, and more.

Read the entire manual before taking your knowledge test for a learner’s permit or driver’s license. Review traffic signs and signals prior to your road test.

License Renewal Wisconsin DMV (Department of Transportation)

WI driver’s licenses are valid for 8 years, expiring on the cardholder’s birthday. Renewal notices are mailed out 2 months before expiration.

Licenses can be renewed up to 1 year prior to expiration online, by mail, or in-person. Provide updated identity documentation.

License Plates

All vehicles registered in WI must display valid license plates on both the front and rear of the vehicle. Standard plates have black characters over a yellow background.

To get plates, provide your WI title or registration and insurance docs at the DMV. Personalized plates cost extra fees.

Contact DMV

Find contact information for your local WI DMV service center on their website. You can also call the DMV at (608) 264-7447.

Service center hours vary but are typically Mon-Fri 8am–4:30pm. Some metro locations offer extended hours until 5pm.

5 Key Wisconsin DMV Questions

1. How do I transfer my out-of-state license to Wisconsin?

Apply for a WI license within 60 days of becoming a state resident. Bring your old license, proof of residency, and identity documents.

2. Does WI require emissions or smog testing?

Only vehicles registered in certain SE Wisconsin counties require emissions inspections during registration renewal.

3. What’s the penalty for late registration renewal?

Registrations renewed after expiration incur a $10 late fee plus an additional $2 per month you are late.

4. Can I hold both a WI driver’s license and ID card?

No, you can only hold one or the other. possessing both a license and ID card is prohibited.

5. How much are replacement license plates in WI?

It costs $6.60 to replace one lost, damaged, or stolen WI license plate. $13.20 for two plates.